Author Topic: New to blinky lights, which software is best to run the show  (Read 4129 times)

Offline lightguy

Hi Guys, ok the LE kits are ordered in the coop, the DMX dongle pcb and case too, so now while I impatiently wait for the hardware I need to start thinking about which program should I use to run it all. I have read many of the posts about Vixen, LSP, Xlight and still do not know starting from scratch which is going to work best for a newbie. Any thoughts please, especially from others members who just recently got hooked by this hobby. I might add I am a lighting technician of 30 plus years in the fields of theatre/stage/concerts so running cue's for say a theatre show etc is childsplay to me on theatre consoles, putting a Christmas show together from scratch however is all new to me.
Thanks,
Gordon

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
This is going to sound like a cop out but. Only you can decide what is best for you.

Try LSP and Vixen to create a sequence. You can use them both without any hardware. See what you like

Currently xLights is only a channel tester and Scheduler.

Cheers

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline mmulvenna

• Patron Member
Check out both vixen and LSP. Vixen is free and LSP does have a free demo version.

Rick is correct, only you can decided which is best.

Whichever you choose there are forums for lots of help on each. Check out the vixen forum and the Lightshowpro.com
Thanks
Mike

Offline remixsam

I feel lost as well!  I just keep reading and re-reading the forums.. and hopefully something will click lol  good luck and let me know what you come up with!