Author Topic: Dongle coop Question  (Read 5753 times)

Offline NavyGator

• Coop Manager
Dongle coop Question
« on: January 05, 2011, »
I am new to DLA and just requested to have 2 boards in the dongle coop. I figured that  would give 1 active unit and one backup unit. I feel like I am under ordering the boards because there are numerous requests for 4, 6 and even 8 boards. With a $45 dollar parts list and enclosures still to buy plus the board building, I was wondering why people are ordering so many boards?

Could you guys help enlighten me on the numbers I am seeing?

Thanks,

Rich

Offline fertsy

• Coop Manager
Re: Dongle coop Question
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, »
I was wondering the same thing...I am no expert at all but I do know for sure that at least 1 back up is a good idea. Mine went out about 3 times this year.

The only reason I could think of multiples is if you are using more than one DMX universe (512 channels) or preparing for smartstrings. Although I am not sure if the smartstring dongle is the same board or not...

I am really just learning myself but here is my .005 cents (not even 2 cents worth.)

Offline onesmoothhead

• Listen to the Lights New Mexico
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, »
2 is a good start.  Some may be using multiple universes or Pixelnet.  For the shipping reason I got 4. It is nice to have an extra boards if you need them.  The only difference is board cost shipping is the same for 2 or 4 boards. You do not have to buy parts for all of them at once.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, by onesmoothhead »

Offline galgon

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, »