Author Topic: looking for construction suggestions for simple small trees  (Read 1112 times)

Offline wrxin

Hello, I'm just looking for any simple suggestions for constructing 4 small - say 3ft tall Christmas trees to line the front edge of one side of our yard. No mega tree requirement or anything too complicated. This is my first year at this and I'm starting "simple" (not sure if light animation can really be defined as simple  ;)). I'd really appreciate any pointers.

I'm starting this year with Vixen software, a 16 channel LE, and a bunch of LED lights I already owned from previous years.

Thanks!

Mark

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
The easiest/cheapest solution is to got to your local nursery and get tomato cages.  Invert them.  I also use landscaping staples to 'fasten' them to the ground.

Wrap the cages (now trees) with strings of lights.  I've used a couple strings of white that I make one channel, and another set of strings that are colored string.  With 8 trees you can have one white channel per tree, and 1 more channel per tree using the colored.  this will let you sequence them back an forth.

but if you want to use some of your 16 vixen channels for other things, you can make 8 channels be the sequenced white and connect all of the 8 colored strings together to create a single 9th channel.  so many ways to do this, and none of them are wrong.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline wbuehler

• Administrator
  • Dont' that poster look dusty?
Very Basic Mini-Trees

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
how cute!  your's have stilts!!  :)

no doubt to make them visible over obstructions.  I need to do something similar.  nice idea.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline wrxin

The tomato cages are a great idea! Thank you.