Author Topic: Sequencing software comparisons/reviews?  (Read 2614 times)

Offline Ampfan

Sequencing software comparisons/reviews?
« on: September 02, 2010, »
I am just getting started with this addiction, so wondered what recommendations people have for sequencing software. There seem to be a LOT of choices, but they all seem to have the same 'look',
but I am sure there are differences on how easy they are to use in practice. I don't mind buying another package if it saves substantial time in use.

I bought several LOR controllers, but will be adding Lynx Express units from now on, since they're much cheaper, so I guess the common denominater will be DMX (or two networks).

I bought a full version of S2, but I wonder if there is a better choice for correographing 100+ channels of megatree, trim lighting, wall wash etc.
Light show pro seems aimed at RGB LED arrays, which I'm not doing (yet. 2 CCRs are't really enough).
Aurorashow seems to be just another S2.
Animated Lighting seems to be really $ for what it does, but does give one programatic design (animation control language).
Vixen is open sourced and free, but how hard is it to get all the bits (addins) working nicely together?
Does it have a MIDI input plugin so one can use a keyboard to add light layers with timing more easily?

I found a reasonably priced high density controller (40 channels) but it does NOT do DMX, but has yet another proprietary protcol that they refuse to divuge, so NO SALE! [Why are makers so dumb as to think that people will buy ONLY their proprietary sequencing software and hardware?]

Anyone know of inexpensive higher density (32+ channel) controllers that do DMX or LOR? I don't want to be running huge arrays of extension cords when distributed control is the way to go (and with an alarm circuit looped through the unused DMX pins, tampering is readily detected).

Thanks in advance for any comments or links to useful commentary on this.

Bob

Offline Christmas.joe