Author Topic: Total Newb (clueless) planning for 2013 where to start??  (Read 6573 times)

Offline Rdavis

Total Newb (clueless) planning for 2013 where to start??

I'm a complete newbie to this and want to learn and build something for my home for 2013, I have a lot to learn and build where do I start???

Thanks for any info!

RD
Grovetown, Ga

Offline PJNMCT

• Patron Member
Re: Total Newb (clueless) planning for 2013 where to start??
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

I'm a complete newbie to this and want to learn and build something for my home for 2013, I have a lot to learn and build where do I start???

Thanks for any info!

RD

Try this...

-Paul
Leesburg, FL

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, »
Hi Rd,

First what is your goal for 2013?

Regular lights controlled by computer?  (basically if you have a static display make the same lights "dance" to music)
Run RGB lights? (RGB = Lights with 3 LEDS in them (Red, Green, Blue) that by changing values you get just about any color you like)

Starting in Jan or Feb we will start having Coops which is a group buy that gets the parts at a discount price saving you money.

You can start now with free software or trial software to see how sequencing goes. You just need a computer and you can add a picture of your house to draw patterns on the picture to see how the lights would look. Software like Vixen, HLS are free. Paid software like LSP

Hope that helps some

Rick R.

Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline kgustafson

• Coop Manager
    • Lost Weekend Productions
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2012, »

Thanks for any info!

RD