Author Topic: Ever wondered who "Ray Wu" is?  (Read 3974 times)

Offline dmoore

Ever wondered who "Ray Wu" is?
« on: February 26, 2012, »
I've been purchasing from Ray Wu since early 2010 and we've done a fair amount of business together but I'd never met him until this trip to China for the LED convention.  Ray Wu is located in Shenzhen and this general area (Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Guangzhou) are the source of the majority of the worlds electronics (Foxconn's largest factory is here.)  Ray is located in the Bao'an district which is just a short subway ride to Hong Kong (sort of).  Ray's "office" is located in an industrial park with a variety of factories, the first floor was busy producing plastic razors.  Ray himself lives just outside the industrial park within walking distance of his office.

Ray is a really nice guy, fairly shy and he speaks generally fairly good English though he understands it better than he speaks it.  He is from another province (as most people in Shenzhen are) and 5 years ago he moved to Shenzhen and sold computer parts before getting a store on aliexpress.  Until April 2011 it was just himself but then he added employees and he now has a total of 5, most of which handle ordering, procurement, etc.  One guy fixes items and ships products.

I think what would surprise most people is how hard Ray works.  Ray works 7 days a week, usually from 7am until 12am and from what I can gather, they are hard hours - no fancy chairs, no A/C or heat (Shenzhen's climate is like that of Singapore or Miami.)  It gives you a real appreciation for a nice office with a fast computer, free coffee and an 8 hour day.

Attached are some photos of Ray's "show room" and his staff (he is the tall skinny guy in the center of the photo, I'm in the blue shirt, the shipping guy is on my right). 

Offline dmoore

Some other "factory" photos
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2012, »