Author Topic: My First Year Video  (Read 1189 times)

Offline kiplorenzo

My First Year Video
« on: January 12, 2014, »
Hey Gang, Here is the first year videos. This was done using LOR and DMX. Please give me your Honest opinions (even the negative ones)

thanks

Kip

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline meman

Re: My First Year Video
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2014, »
Hey Kip, you certainly have a lot of action in your sequences. Can you tell us more about the technical aspects of your show. Looks like you have a lot of good elements to work with there. You mention LOR; is that being used 100% for sequencing software and hardware control. The walls of the house seem to be covered in some kind of light that is constantly changing; are those lots of Color Ribbons or just light strings and floods used to give that effect. Looks pretty cool.

The only suggestion I have is based on my own experience and assessment of my original sequences. As a musician, I heard every individual instrument in the songs and tried to get different elements in my show to "play" every note I was hearing. This resulted in so much rapid blinking that the show was actually uncomfortable to watch. That's when I discovered that fades aren't just for the beginning and ending of the song. Taking lights from 0%-100%-0% intensity rapidly should be reserved for key accents in the song or it loses it's affect. In order to avoid making viewers uncomfortable, fades have to be applied to every transition of light; especially chases like those of your trees and bushes. Otherwise, the human eye gets overloaded.

It took a lot of time, but I went back in and made sure there was fading overlap on all of my chases. It made a dramatic difference in the "feel" of the show.
100% ----fade ---->0%
                100% ----fade ---->0%
                                100% ----fade ----> 0%

Good luck and keep the videos coming.
Mike E. 

Offline caretaker

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2014, »