Author Topic: Smart String Lights  (Read 3310 times)

Offline Jugster

Smart String Lights
« on: January 11, 2011, »
I am seriously thinking about joining the coop but money might be an issue. I was thinking of doing a megatree with 16 channels. Looking at the coop the total cost would be around $220 based on the possible amounts mentioned on the coop.
My biggest concern is the lights. Will the Smart String controllers need special lights? If so then how much are those per string (128 nodes).

Maybe I don't understand SS well enough to try this project since this is my first year. Maybe I should stick with the 4LEs I ordered and try SS next year.

Offline njKeever

Re: Smart String Lights
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2011, »
The projected cost of the Smart Strings is $.63 a node I believe. That would make 128 node strings $80.64.

Offline tbone321

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2011, »
The smart string controllers work with smartstrings so yes, you will need special lights.  The coop for those will come later.  A mega-tree using smart strings can easily exceed $1000 in total cost and if this is your first year, that could be a heavy investment for 1 item.  A 16 channel LE driven mega-tree my be the better way to go for your first attempt.  The cost wil be much less and if later inthe year or a following year you dcide to go for it with a smart string tree, the LE and the lights from the existing mega-tree can easily be repurposed to do other things in your growing display.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline thshadow

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, »
I would say half and half. This is my second year and the smart strings for me are awesome because of how I do my display; however in year 1 I would have never have understood that really to know. From a still learning and growing perspective I would really first think about where stuff is going in your display, what you are looking to do (effect, visual wise) and then map it out a bit.