Author Topic: Help with my LOR  (Read 8535 times)

Offline clever1525

Help with my LOR
« on: March 09, 2012, »
I need help. I have purchased the 16 channel LOR controller and a RS485 adapter. I have downloaded Vixen and nothing is working. I am really new at this and all of the forums are confusing because everyone is talking about multiple controllers. I just want to SE a stran of light turn on controlled by the computer.

Anyone willing to help this noob?

Offline mmais68569

Re: Help with my LOR
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, »
The first thing you need to do with LOR or any other controller is set the start address, or with LOR they call it the Unit ID.

Then the RS485 adapter you bought will not work using DMX without a converter from LOR OR buy & build a dongle & use a crossover Cat 5 cable.

My suggestion to keep from getting you more confused is purchase the LOR program & use it. After a year or so you will understand what you need to do to use LOR with the Lynx controllers. I know I started with LOR & then relized I could buy 3 Express or 48Ch for the price of 1 LOR controller. LOR sequence program will work with other controllers now.

Mike
« Last Edit: March 09, 2012, by mmais68569 »

Offline clever1525

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, »
Like I said I'm a noob. How do I set the start address?

So far I have installed the driver for the Rs485 and when I insert the USB the computer recognizes it, but doesn't install anything.

sjb

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, »
Have you assigned the proper output plugin in Vixen with the com port and channels?

Steve (from Edmonton)

Offline Jeffl

• Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2012, »
The ID is set using the LOR Hardware utility.  You should be able to download the LOR software,install , and run in demo mode and use the hardware utility. There are some good videos below that should help.  I like to "see it done" instead of having to read.