Author Topic: WS2801 RGB String Driver  (Read 3021 times)

Offline PKimbell

WS2801 RGB String Driver
« on: January 04, 2012, »
Ok, I'm new to the controlled/animated light displays, but I do have a background in electronics.  I have been researching the hardware (controllers and lights) I will be using for a 2012 Christmas display.  I am planning on using DMX E1.31 controllers for RGB Pixel Strings I plan on installing on the eves, gutters, and around the windows of my home.  I'm also planning a Mega tree using the same RGB Pixel Strings.

Now my question....
I did not think I needed RGB Pixel Strings (i.e. WS2801 controlled LED strings) for items such as bushes or smaller Christmas trees.

Example Link to a RGB Pixel String:
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

I decided the bushes and small Christmas trees would always be solid colors and a RGB string was fine for each bush or small tree

Example of RGB String:
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

I understand the concept with RGB strings and driving each channel (R,G,B).  What I am finding very interesting is the lack of a simple controller to control these in-line or like a string of RGB Pixel Lights.

If a WS2801 (just as an example) is installed in each RGB Pixel of a string, why could you not use a WS2801 and have it drive 3 NPN transistors from each of it's 3 LED outputs....one transistor for each channel of the RGB String.  Theoretically, if you had a nest of bushes together, or a collection of small trees together (each with their own RGB String), you could address each object as if it was a single pixel of an RGB Pixel String. 

It seems a WS2801, three NPN transistors and a few resistors would be all you would need.  Actually at the top of page 10 of the WS2801 datasheet ( You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login ), it shows the exact idea I am thinking of for each of the RGB channels. 

Does a device like this exist yet? 

Offline RJ

• Administrator