Author Topic: Ideal Setup/Layout  (Read 812 times)

Offline gndn

Ideal Setup/Layout
« on: December 03, 2009, »
Since I'm new to light animation, I have some questions on how to physically layout the Controllers/SSRs.  After doing some looking through the forum and the wiki, It's quickly becoming clear how many extension cords will be required to setup a light animation show.  What layout do most of you find that physically works the best?

I will most likely be hardwiring all my equipment and am leaning towards the LE at the moment.  Is it easiest to just run the two power connectors to the first LE and connect a network cable from the dongle inside the house and run it to the first location of where you would start wiring?  Then just run power and network cable to the next location you want to hookup lights so the Controller/SSRs are always close to where they are needed...?

However, If all the controllers were mounted either in a garage or on the side of a house, I'd imagine you would almost need more extension cords running all over the place than the lights themselves.  Since I don't know anyone around me that does this, it's kinda hard to layout a plan without seeing one.

~Dennis

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: Ideal Setup/Layout
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, »
Hi Dennis,

The Lynx controllers are design to be place out in the yard near the lights.

Yes there is electric wires that need to be run to each controller (LE in this case) and one control cable (cat5), but that is still cheaper and easier than running 16 extension cords from the each LE in a garage to the lights in the yard which could be many feet for each channel.

Hope that helps

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline gndn

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, »
Thanks Rick, yes that does help.