Author Topic: SS string length - number of nodes per string  (Read 1243 times)

Offline ghethco

I'm just getting started with smart strings.  I want to order some strings, but I'm having trouble deciding on length.  Looks like the price per node is less with the longer strings, but I'm not sure if I will ever need shorter strings.

One reason I can think of is if you have an isolated item like a mini-tree that only needs 50 nodes (say).  Are there any other reasons?

Say for example, if you're doing a megatree and you want to have (say) 200 nodes on it.  Does it make any difference whether you use 4 strings of 50 or 2 strings of 100?  Is the programming any easier one way or the other?

Or maybe another example, say you want to do a palm tree, and you want 50 nodes on each vertical run.  Would it make the programming easier if you make each of those vertical runs a separate string of 50 nodes?  Or would it be just as easy with 100 node strings?

Gary

Offline rdebolt

• Patron Member
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: SS string length - number of nodes per string
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, »
As far as programming it all depends on your layout. If you can put your strings where you want and use a longer string then the better off price wise. You would only need 1 SSC instead of 2 or 3. The nice thing about the nodes is that you can make them any length that you want. I use different spacing and lengths all over my house. Around windows, roof, garage, arches and so on. Just make sure that you stay within the node count limits of 128 nodes and that your power supply is able to handle what you are doing using the 80% rule.

Offline keitha43

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, »