Author Topic: Looking to buy some new cutters, what do you think of these?  (Read 1788 times)

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Hi Folks,

as the title states: I have been using my cutters since trade school back in 1984. I think its time to replace them and I was looking at this one. Wondering if shearing is better?

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Thanks

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline bcstuff

• Cape Coral, FL 33991
I am no professional on shears but the Cooper Tools "Xcelite" 170M works great for me at 1/3 the price.

Cuts everything like butter.
-Brian
-------------
2017 - Complete makeover, let's just say it's gonna be a few pixels.

2016 - Grad School Stinks :(
2015 - 16' Megatree, 8' MidiTrees, 8' MegaWreath, 6' Snowflake Spinners, Zwilluminariesâ„¢

Our Display Videos: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Cool

many thanks

The link I posted was just the first one I came across

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
We use the xuron cuttors in model railroading and everyone swears by them.  But the real question is what are you cutting?  sheet metal, small ga wire, lg ga wire, sheet vinyl, pvc?????  Different materials often cut best with different shears?
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
We use the xuron cuttors in model railroading and everyone swears by them.  But the real question is what are you cutting?  sheet metal, small ga wire, lg ga wire, sheet vinyl, pvc?????  Different materials often cut best with different shears?

Just cutting leads after soldering parts to pcb (ie: ssc and hubs when they are sent out)

Rick R.

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
I use plain old side cutters bought from Walmart, or HD, or Lowes, etc for cutting electrical wires.
Jim Nealand