Author Topic: Smart String Controller questions  (Read 1735 times)

Offline gmbartlett

Smart String Controller questions
« on: March 20, 2011, »
I want to first thank Bill and any others that are running this coop.  I've done some small coops but nothing this large.  I recognize all of the hard work this will be.

I'm new to the coops on this site so I've got a couple of questions:
1)  Do the PICs come preprogrammed?  If not, can someone recommend a decent but inexpensive PIC programmer?  (I know these criteria are usually mutually exclusive.)
2)  Is anyone else having difficulty downloading the manuals from the wiki for these boards?  Whenever I try to open them I get this message:  "The action you have requested is limited to users in the group Sysops."

Thank you,
Greg

Offline RJ

• Administrator
Re: Smart String Controller questions
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, »
Topic Moved out of the coop thread.
RJ

Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline tbone321

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, »
To answer your questions:

1.  The Pics for some of the units come pre-programmed but due to the high volume of orders on the SSC, I doubt that these will.  The Pickit 2 or Pickit-3 will program these as well as all of the other pics curretly being used for the Lynks equipment.

2.  The smartstring equipment is a new design and the manuals are probably still being edited an have not been released yet.  By the time the coop ships I'm sure that the manuals will be released.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline chrisatpsu

• ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2011, »
I agree with tbone, the pickit 3 would be my choice for someone starting, as the pickit 3 can target more chips than the pickit 2, and therefore is more future-ready.