Author Topic: Getting Started: Complete list  (Read 2444 times)

Offline softshelpro

Getting Started: Complete list
« on: December 09, 2009, »
I'm new! I have experience with soldering. I have very basic electronics knowledge. I am new to all that is PIC. I'm ready to get my feet wet with a project like the "Dongle" and the "Lynx Express" (complete build and download of firmware).

I need to know what to buy in order to program any of the PIC chips used in the (very cool) light controllers on this site. I would prefer to build a programmer my self (if it can be done cheep).

Any help would be nice.  ???
There are two types of people in this world, those who are Dorks and those who are in denial.

Offline BrianO

• Worst thing about moving....you have to reprogram!
Re: Getting Started: Complete list
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, »
I believe the device is called a PicKit 2.  Check on ebay

Offline WWNF911

• Patron Member
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2009, »
I don't know anyone who's "built" their programmer.

Try this thread for info...

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Leon

Offline tbone321

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2009, »
Where there are kit(s) to build your own programmer you will find that the cost of the kit is about the same as just buying the pickit-2. 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline OkieJay

« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2009, »
One thing I found, the PICkit2 is only half the equation.  You will need a PCB with ZIF sockets to put the PICs in while you program them.  The little one that comes with the PICkit2 starter kit is too small for most of the PICs used in Lynx devices.
I got the Sure model from ebay.  Info at the bottom of this thread.  You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login   

Hope it helps.
Jay

Offline ThaiWay

• Patron Member
  • 1500 C9's are not [i]green[/i]!
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2009, »