Author Topic: LOR Users Help!!  (Read 2408 times)

Offline UncleBuck

LOR Users Help!!
« on: October 07, 2012, »
I have verything working on my desktop computer using LORS3 Advance. I installed LORS3 advance on my laptop to use as my show computer and I keep getting a comm port Error and I have no data going to the dongle. Where do I go to get the right comm port going?  <fp.

Offline tbone321

Re: LOR Users Help!!
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, »
I guess that you are using a USB dongle since you didn't say and the EDT doesn't use com ports.  Have you loaded the FTDI drivers for the dongle and does the laptop recognise the dongle when it is plugged in?
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline UncleBuck

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, »
 Yes I'm using a USB dongle. Probably not because I have no idea what the FTDI drivers are or where to go to install them. The laptop does not recognise the dongle. Keep in mind I'm very new at this and not very computer knowledgeable.

Offline tbone321

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2012, »
If you go into the WIKI, under the USB dongle page is the link to the FTDI drivers.  make sure that the dongle is unplugged and then download and install the USB driver.  The lnk will put you on the correct page.  Once the drivers are installed, plug the dongle back in and make sure that it installs the new drivers for the dongle.  If not, then you may have to go into the hardware manager and remove the previous install of whatever generic driver Windows previously installed and then plug the USB dongle back in to get Windows to install the correct drivers.  Once the correct drivers are installed and Windows tells you the com port it assigned to it, then you can use that infomation to properly configure LOR.

Offline UncleBuck

« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2012, »