Author Topic: How do I light a parade float?  (Read 9308 times)

Offline BigAl37

How do I light a parade float?
« on: August 28, 2012, »
Our youth group creates and decorates a float for the local Christmas parade and this year they would like to add fancy lights that sync to music. I am completely new to any of this and would like to know if anyone has an idea how to do this?
Thanks

Offline zwiller

Re: How do I light a parade float?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, »
I'll let our more informed members decide whether this falls under commercial use, but I imagine using power inverters to convert 12V to 120V from vehicle pulling float will be the key.  Although there are ways to achieve this with 12V, it's a steep learning curve and more costly upfront.  At minimum, you need a computer to program a sequence (arrange lights blinking) which then drives a controller which turns lights on/off while music is played.  In your situation I would recommend a small PA system to play music as a car stereo will not be sufficient.  Powering this system once again with a 12V power inverter.  It will probably be wise to have a knowledgeable or professional setup dedicated power on the pull vehicle and make a recommendation on power inverter/s.     

If this is deemed commercial use which do not allow here (I suspect it is) you should look into Light O Rama.  They have all aspects of this covered including support and training.    You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login 

Good luck!
Sam, who is happy he flashed his etherdongle with newest firmware!

"Now, I had heard that word at least ten times a day from my old man. He worked in profanity the way other artists might work in oils or clay. It was his true medium; a master."

sjb

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, »
Depending on the size of float and the amount of lights, I would suggest using a portable generator.

Steve (from Edmonton)

Offline chrisatpsu

• ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!