Author Topic: 1st Attempt At A Mini Tree  (Read 1207 times)

Offline joatman66

1st Attempt At A Mini Tree
« on: November 16, 2011, »
This is my first attempt at an idea I had for building mini trees.  It looks anemic with 200 lights, but another 200 might make a difference.

I'm not sure white is good color for the frame itself.

Any sage advice would be appreciated.

-Aaron

---
I am here: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline trekster

• A Lynx Express Device........ Fascinating! ;
    • My 2010 Videos
Re: 1st Attempt At A Mini Tree
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, »
Have you considered the tomato cages?  300-400 lights on them look good.

Ron
My 2010 Videos
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline joatman66

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, »
Have you considered the tomato cages?  300-400 lights on them look good.

Ron

I haven't had any luck finding any cages locally...

I have easy access to coroplast, but it might be more work than necessary.

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2011, »
I used pvc pipe, the tree frame will out live the lights and most likely me. after building my first one I tossed it across the yard and it bounced nice with no damage to it.

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
Warning SOME assembly required

Offline inzeos

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2011, »
They look nice in the coroplast.  How are you going to secure them to the ground?  My immediate concern would be that you have a lot of surface area for wind to hit.

Offline joatman66

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2011, »
They look nice in the coroplast.  How are you going to secure them to the ground?  My immediate concern would be that you have a lot of surface area for wind to hit.

I basically made to triangles and slip jointed them to form the tree.  I also kerf cut along the edge for a place to slip the wires into so they won't sag.