Author Topic: Battery operated LEDs and modified strands  (Read 1308 times)

Offline paulcimn

Battery operated LEDs and modified strands
« on: November 25, 2012, »
I will begin by admitting that by no means an expert... and if you read further, that might become more evident.

I have been buying LEDs for three years now trying to build an animated light show like a lot of you guys already have assembled. I have noiticed that the LEDs typically come in one of three ways... with a transformer plug, with a resistor in two of the light plugs, or with in-line resistor/transformer blocks. My challenge is two fold:

1 - I would like to figure out a way to replace the transformer plug at the of some of my light strands

2 - In some cases I would like to modify the length of a strand of LED Lights without reducing the life of the LED.

This is my second year building a light display. Last year we lived in College Station (Go Aggies) and only used (1) 16 channnel LE and about 3000 lights to make a Halloween and Christmas display that was respectable.  At the end of the year, I bought another LE Assembled but no with any chords or case. At the end of the holiday, I also purchased 20,000 LEDs to enhance the display. This year we moved but the boys are now getting more interested.

Enough about me and back to the first project... Last year I also bought or constructed a handful of stars and would like to wrap them in lights. A typical strand is way too long, but last year, I bought a dozen battery powered light strings that I would like to convert to AC. Similarly, I bought a number of pre-done stars that have male plugs with transformer block ends that I am trying to convert.