Author Topic: Tell if LEDS are full wave?  (Read 3903 times)

Offline ThaiWay

• Patron Member
  • 1500 C9's are not [i]green[/i]!
Re: Tell if LEDS are full wave?
« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2010, »
I have some C6 Holiday Creations LED strings that I've been using since 2003 that I know are half wave.  (There is no in-line dongle anywhere in the string which could hold diodes.)  They dim perfectly.  For 2011, I'm going to try splicing in a bridge rectifier after the power plug just to see if I get an increase in brightness.

Happy New Year!
Chok Dee! (Thai "good luck" greeting)
John

Unofficial 220V 50Hz Beta Tester

Offline tbone321

« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2011, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
The original Lynx did not have a wave to send half of. It was a DC dimmer that ran on AC power.

RJ

Ooops, for some reason I was thinking old Express, LOL!  Yea, I guess that if you hook up a DC voltage to a half wave string the wrong way it will do a whole lot of nothing.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline WWNF911

• Patron Member
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2011, »
To date my experience with half wave has been half and half.   ;D

Half (clear) when dimmed would dim once and I do mean once.

[One LED would pop, sputter, and  spark causing the entire string to go dark. Later when I had time to troubleshoot (while on the roof) had to replace every LED (25) in the whole C9 string to get it to work. I just chalked it up to one of those things and prepared for that nights show. To my amazment the string performed fine until it was dimmed then the whole string went dark.]

The other (multi) would dim but on the ramp down would flash (ficker) as if to say Hey! look at me,.. I'm different then all the other strings." But at least they would dim without self destructing.

The contruction appeared to be identical and the manufacturer was GE. Not sure if they were made in different places.