Author Topic: Noob Sanity Check: Getting a list together for a system, am I missing something?  (Read 1633 times)

Offline glankford

I am trying to get a system built (for either xmas this year or halloween next year) and I think I need the following:

1. USB Dongle (configured for pixelnet)
2. Pixelnet 16 port smart hub
3. 5 smart strings (flexible strip)
4. 5 smart string controller (one for each smart string)
5. 2 lynx express (to run regular lights)
6. enclosures, wire, and lots of CAT5 cables

From what I understand, the pixelnet smart hub has a DMX output, so I won't need a separate dongle for DMX (to run both Lynx Express).   The goal is to have a few smart strings, and then regular outputs as well.  I'm figuring about $900 for all of this, including enclosures. 

I'm planning on making this a family project, since my daughter (age 11) enjoys electronics, and my son (age 13) enjoys the cool stuff you can do with these systems.  I'm an electrical engineer by trade, so I'm not scared of soldering, programming, or wiring.

I've been scouring the wiki articles and watching various videos to try to educate myself, but I'd like to be sure I'm not missing something obvious.

I couldn't find a good place to post this, so I figured the express was a good place for it.  If this is the wrong place, please let me know and I will re-post it elsewhere.
Thanks,
Garrick
« Last Edit: November 03, 2011, by glankford »

Offline smartcontrols

• Coop Manager

Do not forget the ATX power supply for the flex strips.
Also be sure to include the shipping from China - it can be more than you expect.

-Jeff

Offline Dennis Cherry

• Maryville, Tennessee
    • Video's of Computerized Lights
You forgot the Software to do the programming.

Choices are:

1. Vixen
2. Lightshow Pro
3. Lightorama.

Have you looked at them?
2013 videos now available You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline glankford

smartcontrols,