Author Topic: Candle flicker in Vixen  (Read 3247 times)

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Candle flicker in Vixen
« on: November 23, 2012, »
I need to make a set of RGB luminaries look like they have real candles in them. I know I could use the color picker, but im not sure how to make them flicker to look like real candles (dim and varying levels of intensities, ramp up/down)? I tried using the boolean paste feature, but just cant seem to get it to look right. Any pointers?

Offline dpitts

  • Restrictive
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 466
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2012, »
In lsp we use a twinkle effect
« Last Edit: November 24, 2012, by dpitts »

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2012, »
Vixen has a shimmer effect that is probably similar, but way too erratic, and would need to be dimmed down. I wish there was a way to fine tune the effects.

Offline deplanche

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2012, »
Try using the wave file for Happy Birthday, it is what the LED tealights do.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login


Offline lortiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2012, »
Hi,

Nutcracker have a candle effect that looks great. Try it!

Leo
Barbara Sher - "Doing is a quantum leap from imagining."

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2012, »
Thanks for all the advice. Still no luck.
I've messed around with Nutcracker, but haven't yet figured out how to set up 10 RGB luminaries in it.
My show begins Saturday- I may just dimly light the luminaries for now until I can figure out nutcracker.

Offline lortiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2012, »
Hi,

Don't give up. It is fairly easy to accomplish your desire effect.

In Nutcracker, first create a 'single strand' element (model) with 8 pixels.
Then using this element, create an effect using the 'fire' class effect.

Leo
Barbara Sher - "Doing is a quantum leap from imagining."

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2012, »
I've tried nutcracker, just with no luck.

I have ten RGB luminaries, each with it's own 3 channel DMX controller.
So I want to set up one strand, with 8 pixels? or Would I want 10 pixels, one for each luminary?
How many "segments"?

I follow along with the how to video, but when I try to import into vixen, nothing shows up.

Offline dpitts

  • Restrictive
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 466
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2012, »
I could export you a small sequence from lsp to lor. The white random twinkle effect in lsp really looks like a lit wick.

Offline kgustafson

  • Coop Manager
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1120
    • Lost Weekend Productions
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2012, »
You could run a vixen script (vsp) to do this effect.  I just ran this for my smart strings (uses the first 8 pixels an only does the red pixels, but you can mod the script to include other pixels.)

Code: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
void Start() {
Random r = new Random();
int level = 0;
int level2 = 0;
int level3 = 0;
int level4 = 0;
int level5 = 0;
int level6 = 0;
int level7 = 0;
int level8 = 0;
while(true) {
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_1_RED), At(level), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_2_RED), At(level2), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_3_RED), At(level3), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_4_RED), At(level4), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_5_RED), At(level5), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_6_RED), At(level6), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_7_RED), At(level7), For(50).Milliseconds);
On(Channels(STR_1_PIX_8_RED), At(level8), For(50).Milliseconds, Wait);
level += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level > 90) {
level = 90;
}
if (level < 10) {
level = 10;
}
level2 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level2 > 90) {
level2 = 90;
}
if (level2 < 10) {
level2 = 10;
}
level3 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level3 > 90) {
level3 = 90;
}
if (level3 < 10) {
level3 = 10;
}
level4 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level4 > 90) {
level4 = 90;
}
if (level4 < 10) {
level4 = 10;
}
level5 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level5 > 90) {
level5 = 90;
}
if (level5 < 10) {
level5 = 10;
}
level6 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level6 > 90) {
level6 = 90;
}
if (level6 < 10) {
level6 = 10;
}
level7 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level7 > 90) {
level7 = 90;
}
if (level7 < 10) {
level7 = 10;
}
level8 += r.Next(-15, 16);
if (level8 > 90) {
level8 = 90;
}
if (level8 < 10) {
level8 = 10;
}
}
}

I cannot take credit for the code.  I modded the code from Bennett Christmas (2009).  You h, ave to make sure that you check this as a standard.dll module, provide the proper output (either ENTEC DMX or in my case Lynx_Etherdongle), and import the correct channels (for me it was 2192 channels that I am using this year).  You have to take care to make sure that your channel names match what is in your imported channels for reference in the script itself.

Kurt
------
Visit at: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2012, »
The scripting is WAY over my head. I'm going to keep messing around with nutcracker to see if I can get it to import into vixen.

Offline kgustafson

  • Coop Manager
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1120
    • Lost Weekend Productions
Re: Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2012, »
Crazybob,

I am still toying with the script (to use functions and all to 'clean up' the code).  It is not as difficult as you may imagine and may be the very thing to get the effect you are looking for.  I could certainly help you through a script to get it to work via a voice mail/shared desktop session, if you are willing to try.  It did seem daunting to me in the beginning, but now I don't think it is really that hard.  Maybe 4 to 5 steps to get set up and have it running.  I am even considering having luminaries on my walkway because of this! LOL.

Right now, I am not able to recreate what some have said can be done in Nutcracker.  I am not convinced (yet) that you can do this in NC with a single strand effect.  But to be frank, I haven't really tried that hard to make this work in NC, so I may be overlooking something simple.

Kurt
------
Visit at: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline crazybob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
Candle flicker in Vixen
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2012, »
I got my show up and running, but unfortunately the candle flicker still doesn't look right. I appreciate the offer and the sample script, but I have a sequence I run overnight that I would want to put the flickering channels into. I don't think that can be done with a script?
I'm still trying to get nutcracker to work for me, but can't get vixen to import anything. I get the channel list, but no values on the channels.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD