Author Topic: EXEC command on Mac  (Read 1123 times)

Offline thekid411

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
EXEC command on Mac
« on: November 27, 2012, »
Is this a windows only command or does it work work on the mac version?

Thanks

Offline dowdybrown

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 358
    • Gleannloch Christmas
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, »
EXEC is not Windows specific -- should run fine on OS/X and Linux. Of course, the strings you pass to EXEC *are* specific to the OS. The example in the Wiki is for Windows.

If you find a problem with it, please post back.

Matt
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, by dowdybrown »
Matt Brown
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline thekid411

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2012, »
Works great, once I was able to figure out how to launch an app. I am going to run an iTunes playlist over my FM transmitter once the show is over. I was able to script it using the EXEC commands.


210 PRINT "Opening iTunes"
220 EXEC "open /Applications/iTunes.app"
230 PRINT "Playing Playlist Christmas2012"
240 EXEC "sleep 5"
250 EXEC "osascript -e 'tell application ""iTunes"" to play playlist ""Christmas2012""'"
260 EXEC "sleep 5"
270 EXEC "osascript -e 'tell application ""iTunes"" to set shuffle of current playlist to 1"


Thanks for this program, Vixen is great for sequencing but the program editor and scheduler not so much. Plus the ability to run natively on the mac saves me from running a Virtual Machine all the time.

Any plans for an iPhone app to run sequences and test channels?

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3729
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2012, »
wow, i haven't seen a program support old (numbered) basic in quite some time...
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline frankr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
    • Rocklin Lights
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2012, »
hey Matt embedded any programming language inside the xLights scheduler :) I'll take whatever I can get :D

as to playing a playlist, last year I just made another xlights show of all mp3s. and played that.

Frank

Offline dowdybrown

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 358
    • Gleannloch Christmas
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2012, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
wow, i haven't seen a program support old (numbered) basic in quite some time...

I have a javascript like language (Chai Script - You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login) ready to replace the basic interpreter. It has just been a low priority. Of course, then the old basic scripts people have written would no longer work.

Matt
Matt Brown
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3729
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: EXEC command on Mac
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2012, »
for the record, i wasn't complaining, just surprised to see it recently 
i'm a vb guy
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!