Author Topic: WIND!! bummer!  (Read 1747 times)

Offline duane.mosley

• hearthstonelights.com
WIND!! bummer!
« on: December 20, 2012, »
30 mph sustained, 50-60mph gust in northern kentucky wiped out my mega tree and possibly my manger. :-\   guess the redesign of my mega tree is going to happen this year instead of waiting until next year. 2 weeks of show time left and it's my first year so i want to keep it running. glad i have gained patience in my short life.

duane
Florence, KY

facebook.com/hearthstonelights

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: WIND!! bummer!
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, »
Sorry to hear that.

Did the tree break at a certain height or did it just fall over?

You might be able to tell where you need to add extra strength in either pole support or more guide wires.

I think most of the "old" guys here over design our stuff just to help deal with the weather

Good luck

Rick R.
Light Animation Hobby - Having fun and Learning at the same time. (21st member of DLA)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Warning SOME assembly required

sjb

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, »
Wow, that sucks Duane. Sorry to hear that. Like Rick mentions, hopefully you can just add guide wires or more support.

Steve

Offline duane.mosley

• hearthstonelights.com
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2012, »
fell over, center pole didn't come apart. i had an 8' ring on the bottom with 2' stakes holding it down, the ground is so saturated from all the rain that it pulled them out.  really stinks though because i was starting to get some good traffic from people and i know for a fact a fellow diy'er was coming over with his family saturday. i'll just have to get up early saturday and get it knocked out, i won't have time tomorrow.

duane

« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, by duane.mosley »
Florence, KY

Offline twooly

• Blah
    • Todd Woolums
WIND!! bummer!
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2012, »
My dads took a fall too, rough season.

Offline jnealand