Author Topic: need help  (Read 4330 times)

Offline bigbuck

need help
« on: December 23, 2012, »
hello all,i am new to this,i want to get started on a display for next year,i am blind to this whole thing,i wanted to see if anyone is willing to help me to get started?i am looking to control regular old lights.where is the best plact to buy a controller and software about 32 to 64 channels,or should one build the controller himself,i am not even sure what all i need,i guess i'm looking for someone to take me under their wing so to speak,i have 4 megatreee in my display already, looking to make them do something other than stand there!!!!,PLEASE HELP!!!!

Offline mitch09

need help
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, »
Welcome. I too was in your shoes two years ago as was everyone here at one time. I had little to no soldering experience but was comfortable with computers. I started with ordering 2 Lynx dongles and 4 Lynx Express 26 channel controllers. With the help of the Other members I was up and running last year.
I guess if you feel comfortable soldering or are willing to learn as you go I say build your own. There's a nice reward when you see your hard work make "magic" for the first time.
If you don't want to take a stab at building then wait until the season is over and watch the Sale/Trade forum for members parting ways with some equipment they no longer use.

Good luck and Merry Christmas!

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
Re: need help
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, »
First thing I would do is to download the software choices. The software is the hardest part along where you will spend the most time. With the software you can play with it and you don't need one piece of hardware to use it.

Free Software options:
Vixen 2.1.x You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
HLS  You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Paid Software options:
LSP 2.5 (Trial available) You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login