Author Topic: MR16 Programed Channel Test  (Read 1635 times)

Offline mmais68569

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
MR16 Programed Channel Test
« on: December 30, 2012, »
OK I have 2 MR16's that need to have channel set both are over 255 so no Vixen, I will use one of the two ways listed in the WIKI. My question: is there an easy way to check to see if the channel program took? Will the LOR hardware Hardware program work for the test?

        Thanks Mike

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, »
i believe the start address using vixen for addresses over 255, is to set channel 1 to 255, and then channel 2, to whatever the remainder up to your channel count is...

To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline Jeffl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, »
I'm not sure about setting the ID.  For testing the LOR hardware program will not do anything with DMX except I think when controlled by and iDMX, only the sequence editor.  xLights is what I used.

Offline SteveMaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 577
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2012, »
Jeff is correct. Unless you have an IDMX it won't work.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline JonB256

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 671
    • My website
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2012, »
Do you have a PicKit 2 or 3?

You can set the MR-16 start channel with either of them.

From my own experimentation, this will set your start channel.

Step 1, load the MR-16 firmware. Verify the correct checksum
Step 2, scroll the screen down to row "A00"
Step 3, in the table below, from the first column, choose your start channel
Step 4, change the "0001" that is there to the second column value
Step 5, write the firmware to your PIC

NOTE:  the checksum will now change. (that's why I had you verify it in step 1)

First column = "Standard" Start Channel numbers   
Second column = Value to enter at A00

1   0001
17   0011
33   0021
49   0031
65   0041
81   0051
97   0061
113   0071
129   0081
145   0091
161   00A1
177   00B1
193   00C1
209   00D1
225   00E1
241   00F1
257   03FF
273   13FF
289   23FF
305   33FF
321   43FF
337   53FF
353   63FF
369   73FF
385   83FF
401   93FF
417   A3FF
433   B3FF
449   C3FF
465   D3FF
481   E3FF
497   F3FF

As far as "testing" the MR16 after the change, I use my Bobcat DMX tester. If you didn't get one in the last COOP, it has been great for use out in the yard to turn on specific items and so many other things.

If there is ever a version made to output PixelNet, I'll jump on that one, too!!! It will need more digits!
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, by JonB256 »

Offline SteveMaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 577
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2013, »
JonB256,

When programming the start address as you mention, does that then change the checksum?
I tried this last night (It worked) but I just want to be sure...as I have 3 more mr16's to program.
Thanks...
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2013, »
yes, any time you change a value of the firmware, it changes the checksum of the firmware.
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline SteveMaris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 577
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2013, »
Thank you Chris, and thank you Jonb256,  I spent over an hour trying to set a start channel the conventional way and finally stumbled across this thread.  <res.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline JonB256

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 671
    • My website
Re: MR16 Programed Channel Test
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2013, »
Glad it helped. I added a NOTE about the changing checksum in my directions.