Author Topic: Newbie choosing equipment  (Read 4241 times)

Offline jhoybs

Newbie choosing equipment
« on: January 05, 2013, »
I have been reading this forum for a year or two and trying to figure out what equipment I need to get started.  I have never done any animated displays, but I've been doing static displays for the last 20 years.  I intend to start out without music sequences (for now) and do simple color switching/fading.  I'd start out with colored LED strings, but may get into RGB floods within the next 4-5 years.

I think for starting out that the Lynx Express is the correct choice, but things get a little confusing after that.  I know that I need either a USB or Ethernet dongle.  So far, the picture that I've gotten is that the both require a controlling computer, but the (DMX) EtherDongle has the capability of running without a computer using a "Master" add-on module.  Is this info correct?

Also, is any further hardware required that I didn't mention?  I assume that I'd purchase both devices in a coop?  Are there any downsides to the EtherDongle vs USB?  How would this system change when I get into RGB floods? 
Jim H.
Muskego, WI
Lynx Expresses, Falcon Players, Falcon F16v3 & xLights

Offline caretaker

Re: Newbie choosing equipment
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, »
SO far you have been doing a great job at researching the equipment here at DLA.  You had a couple questions about dongles so let's see if we can answer them for you:
Lynx USB dongle:
Pros, relatively inexpensive and easy to put together. Order the board from the store, the parts from mouser and after a few hours of soldering you have a way to send your sequences to your hardware either via DMX or Pixelnet.
Cons, requires a computer to run hardware, limited to 1 DMX universe or 1 Pixelnet universes. Not the best for high channel count shows.
Lynx Etherdongle: