Author Topic: Can SSR-4 with DMX be programming with HolidayCoro programmer dongle?  (Read 2100 times)

Offline bakerlights

I just finished putting together the SSR4 with DMX option.  I am new to DLA and have not been able to get a Lynx usb dongle or ether dongle yet, but I do have the Holiday Coro DMX programmer cable tried using it and the Lynx Address utility and the Start Pattern software, but no luck with getting the SSR4 to respond.  Using multimeter to check voltage on outputs shows 11 vac.  I am unsure if SSr4 accepted start address programming.   If anyone can give me some information that would be great.  I am planning on joining the next etherdongle coop when it becomes available. 

The Holiday Coro programmer cable is a usb device that uses the FDTI chip set and drivers, similar to the usb Lynx dongle I believe.

Thank you for any assistance..

Offline hicksjo

Just curious ... Why do you need to program the start address if you don't have a dongle

How will you be sending it DMX data?

Offline bakerlights

From my understanding the Holiday Coro sends out DMX data, I have used it before when testing other DMX devices, hence my question if it will work for testing purposes of the Lync hardware until I get either a usb or ether dongle.  Being new to this site and hardware, I am trying to build and setup as much as I can as early as possible.  Don't want to be at the end of the year and still trying to get things put together.   If it won't work that is fine,  another user as contacted me and offered a usb dongle pcb, so I will be getting that and working on it.

Thank you all for your understanding and help in learning.

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
As long as the SSR4 is getting DMX data then it should work fine to be programed. It might take a few tries to get used to the process and for the pic to accept the change in the start channel.