Author Topic: Just to be sure  (Read 4470 times)

Offline IndianaChristmas

• Patron Member
Just to be sure
« on: July 16, 2013, »
This is my first attempt at using Pixelnet in LSP so I want to be correct when I set up my controllers. 

I will be using the EtherDongle.

When using SSC's I need to drag a Pixelnet controller over to the sequencer.   There will be as many PixelNet controllers added as I have SSC's (assuming each controller does not mirror another).

This seems obvious to me but just wanted to make sure.  Didn't want to get going and learn I was to bring something less intuitive over to the sequencer.

Thanks.  I am kicking myself already for not going to the Academy...maybe next year!

Offline keitha43

Re: Just to be sure
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, »
No you need to use the e1.31 controller. There is a setting in there for the etherdongle. The pixelnet controller is for the usb dongle with pixelnet firmware.

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, »
One etherdongle can supply 16,384 pixelnet channels.  It does this by passing 4 universes of 4096 channels each.  One active hub is used to receive one universe and pass that on to the SSCs (smart string controllers).  The active hub gives you up to 16 strings and a total of 1365 pixels.

while these numbers represent the "max", you can reduce the number of hubs... and/or the number of strings.
if 16,384 is still not enough for your mega display -- you can have multiple etherdongles receiving data from your show computer.  you could even go computer-less with the Conductor/Slave units.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline rdebolt

• Patron Member
    • Christmas in Boise
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2013, »