Author Topic: PixelNet to DMX  (Read 8224 times)

Offline RJ

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8507
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2013, »
Did you get beta tester? would like to see you get to the point of a coop.

RJ
Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline einstein2883

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Did you get beta tester? would like to see you get to the point of a coop.

RJ
Yes...6.  So far I have only gotten one person to do a quick test and it worked on one of Rays 27 ch controllers.  Others have said they will try to test this week or very soon.

Offline typoagain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2013, »
How about an update?
How is the project going?
I get excited about anything that adds flexibility to our system.

Do you have a rough estimate as to the end cost?
One of the new guys in Odessa TX.

Offline einstein2883

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
How about an update?
How is the project going?
I get excited about anything that adds flexibility to our system.

The beta testing has finished. We were able to test it on: LE, wireless, Rays 27ch, Rays 3ch, Renard, LOR, Aether.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Do you have a rough estimate as to the end cost?

I don't have my numbers near by but I know its under $20.

Offline mkozik1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Monroe, GA 30655
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2013, »
Anything further on this?
- Mark

Offline einstein2883

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2013, »
All the testing is done.  It's just not a good time to start a co-op.

Offline txag2008

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
    • Lights of Nazareth
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2014, »
Any new updates on this?  I'm anxious to give my money away to the coop.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline sabie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Santa's Runway
    • Santas-Runway-Christmas-Lights-Display
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2014, »
any updates

Any new updates on this?  I'm anxious to give my money away to the coop.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline joshuashu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2014, »
Any updates? I need to output dmx from my Zeus and don't really want to spend $60 for that. I'm sure this option will save me some money.

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2014, »
I think that you are going to find that this DMX converter is not going to play well with the Zeus, at least not without serious modification.  This DMX converter is designed to be connected to a controller output of a smart string hub and gets both its power and signal that way.  The Zeus is a series of SSC's already on the board.  There is no Pixelnet output on any of the string outputs of the the Zeus and no power on the PixelNet output so it cannot be directly connected to any of the ports on the Zeus and function that way.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline einstein2883

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2014, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Any updates? I need to output dmx from my Zeus and don't really want to spend $60 for that. I'm sure this option will save me some money.
I am looking to get a co-op going sometime soon.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I think that you are going to find that this DMX converter is not going to play well with the Zeus, at least not without serious modification.  This DMX converter is designed to be connected to a controller output of a smart string hub and gets both its power and signal that way.  The Zeus is a series of SSC's already on the board.  There is no Pixelnet output on any of the string outputs of the the Zeus and no power on the PixelNet output so it cannot be directly connected to any of the ports on the Zeus and function that way.
I wouldn’t say that any modification to my board would be needed at all.  You will most likely need to make a Cat5 cable to pull the right par of wires from the other PixelNet port on the ZEUS.  Then you will need to get 7-12v to the board which can be pulled from any of the pixel outputs.  I hope that makes sense.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 181
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #26 on: January 14, 2015, »
Did this project fall by the wayside and get abandoned?

I still have my beta unit and use it on my desk with a 4-port passive hub so I can have Pixelnet and DMX available with only one dongle and without the expense of an Active Hub sitting on my desk.  I think others could benefit from having them in their yard.  If the idea was abandoned, is there the possibility of releasing the code and PCB files so that users could get these if they wanted to?  I could also see this board as an option for Aether II users to run them off an Active or Passive Hub if they wanted since there is no Pixelnet firmware for the Aether II.

Offline einstein2883

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #27 on: January 14, 2015, »
 <fp. sorry I didn't mean for this project to slip.  The project got put on hold because I was getting ready for the birth of my first kid last year.  He was born on 10/26.  After I put away my lights (kids take sooo much time) I will see where I left off. 

I hope co-ops pick up this year, they didn't do very good last year.

I agree this board adds a lot of flexibility to displays/testing.  It allowed me to run a 2nd DMX output off my active-hub to go in the opposite direction as the first.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 181
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #28 on: January 14, 2015, »

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
<fp. sorry I didn't mean for this project to slip.  The project got put on hold because I was getting ready for the birth of my first kid last year.  He was born on 10/26.  After I put away my lights (kids take sooo much time) I will see where I left off. 

Congrats.  You are excused.  :). Get some sleep whenever you can and forget the board for a little while longer.

Offline loveroflife96

  • Coop Manager
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 429
  • Brandon Christmas 2010
    • My Christmas Display Website
Re: PixelNet to DMX
« Reply #29 on: January 14, 2015, »
I used mine last year as well in an area where it was easy for me to branch off an active hub and do an SSRw/DMX vs. a 50-75 foot run of Cat5 from my Express.  I'd definitely be up for getting some more because it did add so much ease of set up!