Author Topic: Aether as standalone?  (Read 3403 times)

Offline txag2008

• Lights of Nazareth
Aether as standalone?
« on: October 02, 2013, »
I've never used Aethers before so I have a few beginners questions.   

--Can an Aether be used as a standalone device?  What I mean by this is does a DMX signal always have to be sent to it?   Could it be set to run as a white light with nothing but power hooked to it?  (I realize you could use a conductor as well, but I'm talking about no computer or conductor)
-Has anyone tried to use an Aether for year round use? For use as tree up/down lighting?
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline rdebolt

• Patron Member
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Aether as standalone?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2013, »
Yes you can wire a on\off switch to the pin location that says Man. Turns on full white.

Offline txag2008

• Lights of Nazareth
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2014, »
I have installed a removable jumper/shunt where it says 'Man' on the PCB.  When I have the jumper on, and without any dmx signal connected, anytime I apply power the LED just flashes white and shuts off.

Does it matter the position of the switches?  Does the board need to be addressed in a certain way?

Offline RJ

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2014, »
Someting is not working correct. The what you are doing should work. I am pretty sure others have said it works. If it flashes white and goes off it sounds like your jumper is not working as this is normal power up. I have had a bad little blue jumper (shunt) before so make sure it is not just that.

RJ
Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline txag2008

• Lights of Nazareth
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2014, »
Hmm...

Thanks for the reply RJ. I'm seeing the same thing on both my Aether 2s. I tested continuity on the backside of my jumpers and both were good.

Anyone with experience running these as standalone have any thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk