Author Topic: Can LED strings be cut anywhere?  (Read 1303 times)

Offline jwilliams31

• Williams Family Christmas Lights
Can LED strings be cut anywhere?
« on: November 12, 2013, »
I'm new to the LED scene.  I know that working with the incandescent lights, they have to be a certain length based on the voltage in order to not blow out the bulbs.

I was looking at the pixel strings from the wiki (You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login).

So if I bought the longest string, could I cut it to any length and not damage anything?

I'm thinking that since each pixel is controlled individually that I could be OK, but I wanted to confirm with those more experienced.

Since they are sold in different lengths, I didn't know if there was something different about the strings that made them work at x length.

Thanks.

Jason
Einstein once said: "There are two things that are infinite; the universe and human stupidity. And, I'm not too sure about the universe."

Offline njKeever

Re: Can LED strings be cut anywhere?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2013, »
Yes, you can cut them between any two nodes and use any length you desire.

Offline jwilliams31

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, »
Awesome.

Thank you.
Einstein once said: "There are two things that are infinite; the universe and human stupidity. And, I'm not too sure about the universe."

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Yes, you can cut them between any two nodes and use any length you desire.

"any length"...    The DLA smart string firmware limits the max number of pixels in a string to 128.  This was done to avoid over-taxing the cat5 wiring that is normally used to deliver power to the SSC.

the max pixel spacing is 6ft. 

See: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login