Author Topic: Lynx "DMX Dongle + Freestyle + SSR4 = No Lights" Troubleshooting - SOLVED!  (Read 2878 times)

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
It's been quite a while (2-3 years?) since I've been here, but I finally put together my Lynx Freestyle, Lynx DMX Dongle, and a couple SSR4's.  So hello again!

Unfortunately, I have no lights.  I'm on a 120v.

On the Lynx DMX Dongle, I'm pretty sure it works because I can start up Vixen and Test Channels going from 100% to 50% and observe various voltage changes between pins 1&7 and 2&7.  My CAT5 cable also appears to be good.  I used the following pinout:


RJ-45 pinout
1. Data 1+
2. Data 1-
3. Data 2+
4. Not Assigned
5. Not Assigned
6. Data 2-
7. Signal Common (0 V) for Data 1
8. Signal Common (0 V) for Data 2


On the Lynx Freestyle, I checked a few of the channels on the RJ45 end of a connected CAT5 cable.  I observed 4 lines with 5v which from what I read means off and drops when on.  The voltage remained steady at 5v when using Test Channels in Vixen when connected to the Lynx USB Dongle (Dongle DMX Out to FS DMX In and Terminated on the FS)

I had gone through the 4 steps from the manual and everything seemed to check out except I did notice the output from the transformer was about 8v (vs. 10+v expected).  However, I have disconnected power since then and have now been checking over solder points and I just happened to check resistance between the AC IN ports and noticed there was basically no resistance?  Now before I plug it back in, this doesn't seem right and I assume this is not expected?  I almost feel silly asking  :-[ ...  I've looked but don't think I see any mistakes but if this isn't expected, I've obviously missed something.  Can someone point me in the right direction before I continue?  Thanks :)

--Iced
« Last Edit: December 25, 2013, by Iced »

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, »
When you measure across the AC in points you are measuring across the transformer primary and with a straight DC voltage that the meter outputs, that is EXACTLY what is expected.  The output from the transformer does appear to be a bit low. 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, »
DLA RJ45 pinout

pin1 & 2 DATA, the rest of the pins ignored.

if the SSR4's are DLA, are they set for SSR, and not DMX?
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
When you measure across the AC in points you are measuring across the transformer primary and with a straight DC voltage that the meter outputs, that is EXACTLY what is expected.

Awesome, thanks tbone321 I plugged it back in with confidence I won't see sparks :D

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
The output from the transformer does appear to be a bit low.

Is there something else I can test or something else I can provide?  Any idea if this means my Freestyle is unusable until I resolve this?
I went through the 4 steps in Troubleshooting Guide again.
#1 - I get 5v power as expected
#2 - ZC Signal - I get about 0.2v on the left side.  I get 5v on the right side
#3 - Clock Module Reading is about 2.35v
#4 - Transformer output is 12.5v

Everything seems to check out on the Freestyle.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2013, by Iced »

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
DLA RJ45 pinout

pin1 & 2 DATA, the rest of the pins ignored.

if the SSR4's are DLA, are they set for SSR, and not DMX?

Correct, the SSR4's are DLA (man, I feel stupid thinking I went and searched for what DLA stood for :D  I've been away too long :|) and set for SSR, not DMX.

Here's a couple pictures:

Freestyle:


SSR4:

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, »
I make the assumption that my Lynx DMX Dongle is OK because I see voltage changes between pins 1&7 and pins 2&7 when I use Test Channels in Vixen
NOTE: My Dongle is v1.0 with the 22μF cap instead of the 100μF

Pins 1&7:
Level 000% --> ~1.2v
Level 025% --> ~1.5v
Level 050% --> ~1.6v
Level 075% --> ~4.0v
Level 100% --> ~4.2v

Pins 2&7
Level 000% --> ~3.8v
Level 025% --> ~3.3v
Level 050% --> ~1.5v
Level 075% --> ~1.0v
Level 100% --> ~0.6v
« Last Edit: December 23, 2013, by Iced »

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, »
Before we go jumping all over the place, did you set a starting address for this unit?
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2013, »
Yes, I used the Lynx Address Utility to set the starting address/channel to 1 (even though from what I read this is not necessary because it defaults to 1)

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2013, »
I'm not sure if the Freestyle has a default channel.  Where is pin7 coming into use?  The DMX dongle only uses pins 1 and 2. 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
Re: AC IN on the Freestyle
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2013, »
I pulled the pinout from the You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login.

RJ-45 pinout for related pins.
1. Data 1+
2. Data 1-
7. Signal Common (0 V) for Data 1
« Last Edit: December 24, 2013, by Iced »

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
That is a DMX standard for shielding and grounding but we don't use it here.  Just pins 1 and 2 are used. 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
a newly flashed freestyle has the start channel of 1

make a new rj45 cable, on one end is the male connector, on the other end, connect an led and resistor across pins 1 and 2

pin 1  +5vDC
pin 2  switched ground (channel x)
pin 3  +5vDC
pin 4  switched ground (channel x+1)
pin 5  Not Used
pin 6  switched ground (channel x+2)
pin 7  Ground
pin 8  switched ground (channel x+3)

then connect the rj45 male end into the first socket of the ssr outputs of the freestyle.
you should be able to control the led, just like you were dimming a channel.
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline chrisatpsu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3726
  • ahhh, yes... my new blink-i-nator 3000!!!
on the freestyle?  is your RS485 chip in backwards?  i think the little indentation on the chip needs to points towards the DMX in jack.

now that i zoomed in on your pic, I'm almost certain that's the issue.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2013, by chrisatpsu »
To rule the entire tri-state area!  What's that? Perry the Platypus!!!

Offline tbone321

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4011
Good catch Chris.  Now I see that too and it is in backwards.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline Iced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
is your RS485 chip in backwards?

LET THERE BE LIGHT!   Chrisatpsu, I owe you one haha.  Thank you...   it works!!  I can't believe I did that!