Author Topic: Questions  (Read 6496 times)

Offline Harley

Questions
« on: January 08, 2013, »
Pixelnet? can someone wxplain the difference between pixelnet and DMX...

Universes, i came to believe that a "universe" is 512 channel, wether its DMX or pixelnet

im new to this and trying to learn about the pros and cons

im wanting to mainly use RGB stuff and maybe a few of the regular lights

any info would be greatly appreciated

Thx, Harley in La
Harley in Louisiana

Yep im a n00b, i can break it and blow it up with the best of em

Offline Steve Gase

• WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, »
Pixelnet is a DLA/Lynx-custom protocol.
It is based off of the DMX protocol (wire and packet) but it increases the channel counts from 512 to 4096, and decreases the timings.

Pixelnet allows the higher channel counts needed for pixel-based lighting.  Otherwise, with a 512-channel limit you would find that a 3-channel RGB pixel would be limited to 170 pixels on a DMX universe.

Since Pixelnet is not an industry standard, it is not shared with other products from other forums or vendors.  BUT, there are capabilities in the Lynx kits that allow a page of Pixelnet channel space to be available as DMX channels.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline JonB256

• My website
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, »
The one other super-DMX protocol is Hyper DMX. It squeezed 4 Universes into the space of 1 just by increasing the speed by 4 times.
Pixelnet puts 8 universes out by doing 2 things. Bumps up the speed, but also removes some wasted space used for Break Signals. Since DMX is a fairly old protocol, designed back when discrete components rather than integrated circuits ran the world, it is super conservative on speed and timing. My personal experience with Pixelnet data integrity has been problem free.