Author Topic: wire colors  (Read 2780 times)

Offline kernal

wire colors
« on: February 01, 2014, »
The colors are different on the 3 core connector than the 3 from the nodes....   yes im a newbie to rgb!  help please
My license plate says blinky.

Offline mmais68569

Re: wire colors
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, »
colors do not make a difference as long as you stay with the same colors connection the same.
Example nodes Red Green Blue

Nodes Red yellow brown
connect the red to red, the green to brown & blue to yellow maintain this color combination all the way to the controller.

Hope I explained it clear enough..

Mike

Offline kernal

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2014, »
The three core connector has Blue Yellow Brown.   Nodes have RGB

Offline t.jo13

• Coop Manager
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2014, »
I cannot recall if there is a recommended layout in the wiki. But as stated above you need to keep your color combo the same. For example: if you come out of the first SSC to the pigtail and you choose brown on the pigtail to use for data the brown needs to be used for data for all pigtails  and strings to avoid issues. If you put blue to blue, brown to red ect. It should stay that way throughout the whole display

Joe

Offline kernal

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2014, »
Thx for the help!

Offline MrChristmas2000

« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2014, »
The big hair pulling problem is going between pixels and rectangles. the data and ground wire color changes. You have to look closely on your element to figure out what is +, - (ground), and data. Then as others have noted be consistent in your color translations. Making a chart will help greatly and you then don't have to remember every time you do it.

For example I connect the red wire usually + to the yellow/grn striped wire on the connectors etc.

If you accidentally switch the data and ground wire it just does not work, you don't break anything except you have to switch the two wires around.

Hope that helps.