Author Topic: Mega tree question  (Read 843 times)

Offline peteywhit

Mega tree question
« on: January 28, 2015, »
So I have a question about a mega tree I'm planning to build.

I'm basically trying to get the best bang for my buck since I'm just starting out.

Here's some details of what I'm thinking about...

Spiraling Mega Tree
12 ft. tall
6 ft. dia. base
16 - 150 light incan. folded in half to make "32 strands" (each 150 strand is 31.6 lighted ft./2 = 15.8 actual ft. "per strand")
Use 2 strands (will look like 4) per channel
Therefore allowing me to only use 8 channels on one express!

My question is do you guys think that it would still look good while doing transitions around the tree? I've noticed a lot of people run around the tree with 3 or 4 strands lit instead of 1 at a time. Simply because I'm sure most people like myself think it looks better. But what I can't tell in some videos is whether each strand is being turned on to circle the tree or if it's actually groups of 3 or 4 being turned on at a time.

Here's an example of what I'm wanting to do (doesn't show the spiraling though)..
The numbers in red are the strand numbers (2 lines per number since 2 lines = 1 strand)
The numbers in green are the channel numbers (2 strands hooked to one channel)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Hope my explanation isn't too confusing, but if you don't mind giving me some feedback I would appreciate it.

Blake
« Last Edit: January 28, 2015, by peteywhit »

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
Re: Mega tree question
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, »