Author Topic: UPDATED: Help or comments on a DC only SSR  (Read 2400 times)

Offline D56VillageNut

• Patron Member
    • Thompson Snow Village
I don't know if there is enough interest to justify this but here it goes.

I have a miniature Christmas Village display that has a number of lighted accessories that run on either 3v DC or 4.5v DC.  I generally power them with "wall wart" adapters to eliminate the batteries.  I also have a few items that are powered by 12v wall warts these generally have motors or components that require 12v.

Wirekat has challenged me to "liven it up" a bit as it were and bring some DIY Lighting Animation into the picture.  I am not an electronics engineer so designing circuits and doing PCB layouts  is beyond my skill level at this point.  At the very least I'm interested in some help with a circuit design and perhaps some component selection guidance for a variation of an SSR.

I would like to "create" a small device that would be essentially a DC SSR to be controlled from a Freestyle.  What I would like is to be able to plug the wall wart's DC output (3, 4.5 or 12v as needed) and the chosen accessory into the "device" so that the accessory could be controlled or switched by the output side of the SSR.  Dimming would be nice if possible but right now I'm willing to just have the items turn on and off.  I would be interested in testing some of the mini led light strings I have to see if they would dim.

A 4 channel device like the current AC SSR would be OK but I would also be interested in a single or double channel version so that I could have one that is fairly compact for certain applications.  In my display I have lots of 110v outlets spaced to accomodate the various buidlings so this would let me locate my accessories, their wall warts, and the DC SSR and just run a Cat5 cable to it from the Freestyle.