Author Topic: Problems with EtherDongle  (Read 3167 times)

Offline jem5136

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • Lights of the Night
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2015, »
Ok, I got the right software and I have it set up as follows:
Family: 32-bit MCUs (PIC32)
Device: PIC32MX795F512L
Tool: PICkit3 S.No: BUR132284452
Source: C:\User....\EtherDongle2.hex

I have the ETD plugged in to get power and the software can find the device, however I get a message "Connection Failed"

It seems I'm never going to get this thing programmed.
2011 Plans:
   - Second year for dimmable animation
   - 184 Channels of Blinky Flashy :D
   - 8 RGB Flood Lights
It's gonna be fun!! :D

Offline Jeffl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2015, »
When you say you have the ED plugged in you are referring to the Pickit3 and not the wall wart correct?  If you do, unplug the power to the ED from the walwart.

The Pickit3 will supply the power.  Others will have top chime in but I think you need to go into the admin option of IPE and set the "Power Target Circuit from Tool" option after you choose the pic model.  Just make sure the voltage is correct.

Offline bisquit476

  • Patron Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2015, »
I used the stand alone program (when the ED first came out) and I think you had to update the Pickit3 firmware to get it to work, but I may be fuzzy cause that was a long time ago. Like Jeff said, don't have the ED plugged to power.

Offline jem5136

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • Lights of the Night
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #18 on: October 01, 2015, »
I'm still having problems, I set "Power Target Circuit from Tool" at 3.3 but now I'm getting a message saying "The target circuit may require more power than the debug tool can provide. An external power supply might be necessary.
Connection Failed."
2011 Plans:
   - Second year for dimmable animation
   - 184 Channels of Blinky Flashy :D
   - 8 RGB Flood Lights
It's gonna be fun!! :D

Offline tcdad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2015, »
I walked thru this today
I made sure my Picket 3 was connected to computer and the arrows aligned to ICSP header on EDT
Opened Program IPE
After I chose PIC32MX795f512L clicked the "APPLY"
Go into Advanced mode
Click the Power and choose "Power Target Circuit from Tool"
Click the "Logout" button
On top "Veiw" click on "Power Settings" (see pic1)
Close It out
Next click "Connect" button next to tool: PICkit3 #### (see pic2)
On EDT the power indication should light up
Get the Hex file
click "Program Button" see pic 3



Offline tcdad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2015, »
sorry here are the pics

Offline jem5136

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • Lights of the Night
Re: Problems with EtherDongle
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2015, »
When I go in to check the power settings. Everything was the same as what was in your example, but the "High Voltage on MCLR" was set at "No". And I get the same message I was getting before.

When I go into Advanced mode, I don't get an option to turn the high voltage on.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2015, by jem5136 »
2011 Plans:
   - Second year for dimmable animation
   - 184 Channels of Blinky Flashy :D
   - 8 RGB Flood Lights
It's gonna be fun!! :D