Author Topic: Power injection??  (Read 1588 times)

Offline lonewolf41

• Coop Manager
Power injection??
« on: October 29, 2015, »
I am redoing my mini trees by using 97 pixels I just bought (purchased 100 count strings) from Ray.  I thought I remember seeing/reading that the new pixels from Ray used more power and that the old 128 node limit was no longer valid.  It is something less.  Couple of questions:

Is this true, and if so, what is the new limit?
I seem to remember reading that "power injection" could be used to circumvent this limit.  If so, how is this done with the pixels?  I have never done it before.  Is there a different pixel that would not require power injection?

TIA,
-Keith

Offline tbone321

Re: Power injection??
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2015, »
Even if the newer nodes use a little bit more power than the older ones, the string length that you are using still should be well within the max current output of the hubs ports.  Also remember that unless you are keeping the nodes on full white, they don't use their maximum current draw.  Power injection sounds like a big deal but it really isn't.  All you are doing is connecting another source of power somewhere along the string.  It is normally done by cutting the positive lead of the string where the nodes are starting to look dimmer and connect another power source at that point.  Ground is still ground so make sure to connect the grounds of the two supplies together.  I wouldn't worry about power injection until you test one of those mini trees and see if it needs it.  I would bet that it doesn't.
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline lonewolf41

• Coop Manager
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2015, »