Author Topic: How do I control the MR 16 Controller with IDMX?  (Read 9776 times)

Offline occhristmas

• Christmas in the O.C.
Ok - I have read all of the posts related to the MR-16 Controller and I still cannot get my MR16 Controller to work with my LOR IDMX.  I have checked all of the solder points, I have rechecked that my pic is programmed, the cat5 cable works perfectly with other DMX equipment, and I have a constant 12VDC power source.  I have hooked up 6 of wirekat's MR16 to ground 1 through 6 with a common positive wire.  When I fire up the power all 6 lights come on - and stay on.  In general, what is supposed to happen when an MR16 controller works and is powered up?  Am I missing something totally obvious?  I was hoping to use the IDMX to power my MR16s with the MR16 controller to free up my other DC boards since the MR16s are channel hogs if you want individual control.  Any help is appreciated, please assume that I am a novice at DIY and electronics.

So, my questions:

1.  Does the MR16 controller even work with the IDMX from LOR?

2.  Do I have to use vixen to give an address to the MR16 controller?

3.  Do I need to modify a cable to work from the IDMX to the MR16 controller?

4.  Is there any way to test the functionality of the board?

Thanks.

Offline KeithTarpley

• Administrator
Re: How do I control the MR 16 Controller with IDMX?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2009, »
Greetings,,,

Have you tried switching the two non-ground pins for the cable from Lor's dmx to the dmx input of the MR16?

Keith
"Now I know the only foe is time." -Moody Blues

Offline occhristmas

• Christmas in the O.C.
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2009, »