Author Topic: Vixen software  (Read 5854 times)

Offline LAF

Vixen software
« on: November 12, 2009, »
I am new to all of this, and went to the Vixen web site (You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login) to start downloading the software. I am not sure whether Vixen is best for me, but the price is certainly unbeatable, so I thought I would start there.

But I was somewhat overwhelmed when I reached the download site... Not only was there the Vixen install (BTW, 2.1.1.0 - I thought there was a newer version, 2.5?), but I also had to choose from Output plug-ins, UI plug-ins, Trigger plug-ins, etc., etc., and none of them said anything about the Lynx Express.

So, besides the main Vixen install, do I need anything else?

Thanks in advance for helping me reassure myself that I am not too much in over my head!

Larry
Larry F.

Offline magic8192

Re: Vixen software
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2009, »
I think the plugin is included.  Use the entec dmx pro plugin with vixen for the Lynx Express.  The best place to start learning how to use vixen is with the newbie videos.  You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline LAF

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, »
OK. So, I downloaded and installed Vixen. I also downloaded one of the sample sequences from You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login. When I try to open one of those sequences, I get an error with Vixen -

"Unhandled exception has occurred..."

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Larry
« Last Edit: November 18, 2009, by LAF »
Larry F.

Offline rrowan

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, »
There are different versions of Vixen.

Most of the time the data files from each different version do not work in other versions.

Like ver 1.x, 2.0.x, 2.1.x, 2.5.x

x = sub version numbers.

So if you got ver 2.5 of Vixen you need a sequence file from the same version or use a prepare.exe program to update the .vix file to work.

Hope that helps

Rick R.