Author Topic: Is Vixen good enough for everyone?  (Read 2743 times)

Offline castortiu

Is Vixen good enough for everyone?
« on: December 28, 2009, »
Is Vixen good enough for everyone?

I have been using Vixen for almost two months now, and it is a really good product, it allows controlling every detail for every channel, I won’t lie, I have only 64 channels and I spent about 1-2 hour for every minute of sequence. Probably I’ll be upgrading to 128 on 2010 and adding several more songs, I can’t imagine the amount of work that it will require for all this.
Is like Vixen is made for professional light controlling but doesn’t help the newbie or a person that doesn’t have too much time on his hands.

The preview is great, but there is a big separation between what is preview and what is editing.

I was looking at the sequence files .VIX and they are just XML files with base64 encoding, so it is not difficult to generate .VIX files.

What do you think about a software that generate.VIX files that can be loaded with Vixen, but this software allows to create the whole sequence in the preview screen, basically there is no preview screen.

The user upload an image and works on the image itself, basically adding lights, channels and setting timing and effects, all this with drag&drop and setting the properties for the lights/channels.

At the same time the audio is available and synchronized with the working area, so you could scroll the position in the audio file and see the working area changes.

I think the learning curve will be minimal, also since the file can be exported to Vixen it allows to even more fine tuning if necessary.