Author Topic: Mac based program to control lights  (Read 12704 times)

Offline thshadow

Mac based program to control lights
« on: January 03, 2010, »
Anyone interested in seeing if we can do this...

Offline thshadow

Re: Mac based program to control lights
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2010, »
Okay I have some programming experience on a Mac. I haven't really taken a good look at Vixen or the other Windows based program. Both should run fine on Parallels or Boot Camp for a Mac so there may be no real need for this. However it would be kindda cool to have a native based application to do the same thing. There are programs native to mac which could make the mixing of music, etc a much easier process. I have written programs here to control AV equipment using serial commands without issue as well as the same with RPC. From what I am gathering the Lynx use DMX or some variant of it so if we can figure how to send standard DMX commands out of a Mac like you would Rs232 or similar then Bingo this should be a piece of cake.. maybe ;)

Anyone interested in giving this a shot or at least brainstorming some more on it. One of the larger software companies for DMX control makes an iPhone app for such... so figure behind the scenes it couldn't be too hard in Cocoa to get this going.

Anyway open to thoughts on this... or is this a better left alone area given the easy of Parallels on a Mac.

- Mike

Offline dmaccole

• PacificaLights.info
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, »
I still live in the world of much legacy G4/G5 Mac equipment, so no Boot Camp or Parallels (nor Snow Leopard) for me.

And I've read on other boards that some people have problems running Vixen under Boot Camp or Parallels (others, not so much).

While my personal preference for a sequencing tool that runs on OSX probably outweighs my ability to ascertain whether it would be beneficial to invest time in developing such an animal, I'm here to help in any way I can.

\dmc

Offline tylyview