Author Topic: New to DMX and USB DMX software  (Read 7067 times)

Offline foxtrot7

New to DMX and USB DMX software
« on: November 19, 2011, »
Hello.  I am just starting out learning DMX...I mean JUST starting out and a bit clueless.  I want to learn DMX and dont want to waste a lot of money as I learn.  I purchased the Enttec Open USB controller and now I'm at a loss for which software to use.  I downloaded Freestyler, but havent a clue how to use it.  Any suggections on how I can start slow and learn this stuff?  At this point, I really only want it to develop small shows using lasers.  I'll take on more as my comfort level grows.  Thanks for any help offered.

F7

Offline holland lights

• holland lights
Re: New to DMX and USB DMX software
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, »
Well most of us use the dmx dongle You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login which is around 60.00 dollars to build is similar to the enttec dmx pro device. And most of us use vixen You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login as a starting point for the software.

Offline foxtrot7

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, »
thanks for the links!

Offline holland lights

• holland lights
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2011, »
Heres a dongle for sale, but you better hurry up if you want it. You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Just pm the guy if you want it.

Offline foxtrot7

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2011, »
Thanks...I have the controller...but need lots of help with software and getting started.  I'm usually pretty good about figuring out software, but i cant seem to get this stuff.  I cant even seem to get one laser to wake up.  I think my problem is getting the fixure identified correctly.

Offline holland lights

• holland lights
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2011, »
Well there's a reason why we don't use a open dmx device.  Heres a link to a question about the open dmx when i first got started. You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login