Author Topic: SSR4 Help  (Read 2442 times)

Offline mizelly41

SSR4 Help
« on: November 06, 2010, »
First off let me say I am very new to all of this.

I bought and assembled an SSR4 with no DMX.  I will be using an Arduino to send the signals to SSR4.  I have tested just about every connection I know how to and everything checks out, but it isn't working.  When the signal from the Arduino is sent to the board, I assume that pins 4 and 6 on the optoisolator should then close.  When I test the resistance across these two pins with a signal sent to 1 and 2, it shows no flow.  One thing I have found by accident is that if I short pins 4 and 5 or pins 5 and 6, the lights turn on.  Any ideas?

Offline mizelly41

Re: SSR4 Help
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2010, »
After a little more testing, I got the lights to turn on, but not from the signal from the Arduino.  I used an AC-DC regulator and hooked that to the input and the lights turned on.  I am guessing the Arduino is not sending enough current.

Offline RJ

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2010, »
The SSR4 like other DIY ssrs turns on by grouding the channel feed. You feed it 5v in the pin 1 of the cat5 input you need the "S" jumper near the middle of the pcb jumper for "(S)sr" mode and the C/S jumper jumpered to the "S" side.

Then when you ground pin 2,4,6,8 it turns on channel 1,2,3,4

Hope this helps as far as current you need little so that is not the issue.

RJ
Innovation beats imitation - and it's more satisfying

Offline mizelly41

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2010, »
Thanks for the help, but I am still a little confused.

I hooked up pin 1 of the cat 5 cable to the 5V and then pin 8 into ground.  After looking at the PCB without DMX, it looks like pin 8 acts as the ground for all channels.  So 2, 4, and 6 are not needed right?

Offline mizelly41

« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2010, »
Ok, I got it working.  I had the signal wires switched.