Author Topic: New Software  (Read 24204 times)

Offline csf

New Software
« on: November 15, 2010, »
I honestly fell I have a software design in mind  that will make sequencing our displays much easier, especially for things like this.

I hope to have some of it done in time for personal use for my show next year. I plan to release what ever I make as part of xlights.

Problem for me is for me, as a college student I am left with almost no free time to develop the software between college and work. I hope to at least get some of the base done over winter brake, and hope I get some more free time after I graduate in Jun. But with that being said I in no way can guarantee the time frame for this project and when it may be usable enough.

Now if there are programmers out there that want to help develop the project let me know. All I ask is that any software developed based of the ideas are released under the xlights project. (basically means a free, open source, cross platform program (preferably using wx widgets))

Offline magic8192

Re: New Software
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, »
Check out Prancer
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline frankr

• Rocklin Lights
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2010, »
csf,

I sent you a PM to express my interest in helping you out.  I am not sure what the concept your looking into is but I personally do not see any of the current solutions as the "right" answer yet.  I think there is still plenty of room for some more innovation on the software side.

Frank

Offline csf

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2010, »
Just so every one knows the reason I bought this up in the smart string section was because of people talking about the issues with sequencing devices like smart strings.

Prancer does sound rather interesting and promising. Once it's open for public testing I will definitely be giving it a try.

frankr I am sending you back a pm right now.