Author Topic: Weatherproofing Lynx Express  (Read 1686 times)

Offline Christmasaddict

Weatherproofing Lynx Express
« on: November 23, 2010, »
I have searched the board and have not found anything on this topic.  How weathertight are these cases?  Do I need to do something to make them  more watertight?  I have built stands to hold the LE's vertically with the wires coming out the bottom so I am not concerned about water coming in around the wires.  Just not too sure about the seal around the lid.  I thought about putting a 5 gallon bucket on them upside down but the LE is just a little too large for the bucket to fit over it.

Offline Rainlover

• Coop Admin
Re: Weatherproofing Lynx Express
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, »
This is my first year doing this. I have had 4 LEs in my yard for 2 weeks of steady rain and no water has gotten in the enclosures. I was thinking about putting a trash bag over the top.

John
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

Offline wirekat

• Patron Member
    • Christmas in Kent
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, »
I don't know if I'd worry about keeping it out so much as not keeping it in.
Make sure any moisure can get out is my motto now. Seattle area gives us
plenty of moisure and I can't keep it all out but if it gets in I let it drain out
the bottom. The Lynx enclosure will work just fine.
My buddy up north covers all his enclosures with black garbage bags just to
be sure. I'll probably do that too this year.

Good Luck!
Kevin Thomas

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline tbone321

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2010, »
I would suggest NOT putting trash bags over the enclosures.  They can trap moisture in the enclosure and help cause the corrosion we are trying to avoid.  These enclosures are designed for outdoor use and if the enclosure is mounted properly they will keep water off of the board. 
If at first you don't succeed,
your not cut out for sky diving

Offline budude