Author Topic: Bad Triacs  (Read 2935 times)

Offline joshuashu

Bad Triacs
« on: December 18, 2010, »
Any one else having trouble with triacs going bad? I have 4 this year, with nothing running but LED and one strand at that?  Is the extreme cold having some thing to do with it? I know i heard something about it over at PC, but since the CS will not let me post i can not search? any ideas or options?

Offline Rainlover

• Coop Admin
Re: Bad Triacs
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2010, »
I have had 3 stick on. Since I am a newbie, I am guessing that my problem has more to do with bad soldering than bad weather. We have not had any real cold weather, just a lot of rain. Before I put the controllers away, I will check the solder joints and fix or replace.

John
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

Offline trekster

• A Lynx Express Device........ Fascinating! ;
    • My 2010 Videos
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, »
I have 8 LE's and 4 SSR4 DMX running without any problems.  They are all from 2010 coops as this is my first year.  I have not had any "stuck" triacs or any problems with the controllers.   I did have the GFI pop every night on the mini trees.  I was told that the wire tomato cages would do that.  I just plugged that controller into a non GFI and it has not gave me any more problems.  We have not had much of any cold weather though. 

Ron

Oklahoma
My 2010 Videos
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline jnealand

• Patron Member
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2010, »
I have had to replace 3 triacs so far this year.  I have one more that appears to be shot, but I have spare channels on that controller and will look at that one in more detail after the season is over.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA

Offline blickensderfer

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2010, »
Two nights ago I had one triac to bad.  So far this is the only one out of 7 expresses.

Dan

Offline kylec

• Patron Member