Author Topic: Smart String important update  (Read 5021 times)

Offline RJ

• Administrator
Smart String important update
« on: January 06, 2011, »
The first of the Smart String coops started last evening with the dongle coop. The rest of the hardware (Smart String Controller & Hub) will be starting in a day or two.

The lights themselves follow shortly after this.

Why?

Let me explain:

The paperwork is taking longer than I had expect to get done. Partly because of the holidays  See as most of my users that know me would expect, and against all the ugly rumors that I have read running around. I would not coop 10 's of thousands of Led nodes illegally into DLA. First clue should have been that I work in law enforcement for those that would for a second think something like this. This has all been bad rumors spread about for what ever reasons.

The facts are we are using a chip that can be shipped to the USA legally unlike the WS2801 used in most of the 5v units.  

The facts are I did the research and have been working to become licensed with the people that I need to be licensed with. the paperwork is underway and though it took longer to make it happen than I thought it would it is progressing. One issue the nice gentleman that has been handling it has had is to figure out is how to handle a non commercial hobbyist website. We are not his normal fair as you can imagine. He has spent a lot of time on our website checking everything out to become clear on what we do and what we are trying to do.

I think he was shocked at how many people do this and all the web sites for animated lights there are.

It has progressed from there with him getting a workable license setup for us and then an exchange of documents. an NDA was even required to protect them and I.  

I did not want to say anything until it was worked out.