Author Topic: Opinions on getting started, Lynx express or smart string  (Read 2686 times)

Offline grussell

Ok, so I am really new to this. I am handy enough to build kits and do the programming, I also have a few local friends that are really experienced. Here is my question. What is the best way to go, 128 channels of lynx express controllers or individual smart strings. if i understand correctly the smart strings do not need a lynx express type controller. They can be controlled from a computer, power supply and a control hub ( not sure the cool name for that piece). So please give me your thoughts, are they price competitive with each other or am I completely wrong in my understanding of how the smart strings work

Offline fertsy

• Coop Manager
One of the first questions I would ask is do you own lights already. If so then maybe express'. With that being said they are totally different. I'm not up to date on smart strings but I think you are missing a component or two......controller comes to mind. Might want to get in on the express coop Sep 1st. And one last thought is that 128 channels is ALOT for a first time. But I know some people are in the mood of go big or go home. I'm sure this isn't too helpful but others will chime in too.

Offline PJNMCT

• Patron Member
My opinion is that if you are completely new, you may want to go the express route your first year to get a bit of sequencing experience first. I can see how using smart strings right out of the gate could be much more confusing/challenging. Not that it couldn't be done, i just think you will get much more satisfaction out of seeing many show elements being controlled and synched to music transmitted over an FM radio than a bunch of individual pixels. Yes you could do the same with strings of pixels but i think you will get much more satisfaction and confidence to move into smart strings later. Plus the cost is dramatically different.

Good luck and have fun whichever route you decide on.